I know the multiverse and crossover events can lead to some sticky situations in comics, wherein storylines get way too messy and confusing, but honestly, I love when creators are let loose and given the creative freedom to do what comics do best: imagine the unimaginable and play with form. Stories don’t always have to make sense to be fun. Let all the Spiders out of the Spider-Verse, I say! And Marvel says it too, not infrequently, which is quite alright with me. The pure joy and escapism of superhero comics is a big part of what I love about them, so getting to see favorite characters recast as others (see: the first title on this list and swoon along with me) is always sure to make me smile. Quit worrying about continuity and relish in the creativity with me as we dive into these five Marvel comics changing up the game for their characters this year. Explore more cool new comic stuff:

2022 Comics and Graphic Novels to Add To Your TBR Indie Comics to Watch Out for in 2022 12 Exciting Marvel Events for 2022 Don’t-Miss 2022 Queer Graphic Novels and Memoirs Marvel Comics Making Cool Character Changes This Year - 64Marvel Comics Making Cool Character Changes This Year - 7Marvel Comics Making Cool Character Changes This Year - 68Marvel Comics Making Cool Character Changes This Year - 3Marvel Comics Making Cool Character Changes This Year - 9